S i m m e r i n g e r   C h i l d   P r o d i g y

M u s i c   A m b a s s a d o r   o f   V i e n n a

M o z a r t   o f   M a d a g a s c a r

A r t i s t i c   C a r e e r

Andri Joël Harison is the youngest scion of a musical dynasty from Antananarivo (Madagascar) - and already on his way to the big stages of this world.

 

Born in Vienna in 1995, he discovered music for himself at a very early age, when he started playing melodious tunes on the keyboard at the age of just thirteen months. In kindergarten, he played new pieces as well as improvisations of famous Christmas songs during celebrations. Since then, improvisation has become an essential skill in his musical oeuvre.

 

He completed his musical education in piano with Silvia Pereyra de Geberovich at the School of Music in Simmering, in singing with Christine Wagner, as well as at the Grammar School of Music of Vienna [Musikgymnasium], where he sang in the school choirs and ensembles and performed as a vocal soloist. He completed his studies with Konrad Leitner (correpetition, opera conducting) and Johannes Wildner (orchestra conducting) at the University of Music in Vienna.

 

He first appeared as a conductor at the age of 15 with the premiere of his first composition for orchestra in the concert hall of the School of Music in Simmering. His orchestral piece Op. 10 No. 1 was performed by pupils of the School of Music Simmering and the Grammar School of Music Vienna.

 

He is a prize-winner of the seventh "International Competition for Piano for Six and Eight Hands" of the Bavarian Music Academy (2010), eight-time prize-winner of the youth music competition "prima la musica" (2007-2014), prize-winner of the 18th "Osaka International Music Competition". For this competition he composed his "Fledermaus-Fantasie"; as a result - being the only one in the current competition with his own composition - he won the "Espoir Prize". He is also a recipient of the "Heinz-Arnold Memorial Scholarship" as pianist and répétiteur at the 5th International Competition for the Richard Wagner Prize of the Richard Wagner Foundation Leipzig (2018).

 

As a composer, the breadth of his œuvre so far ranges from piano works to transcriptions and symphonic music; it currently contains almost 100 works.
His most popular piano composition up to now, the above-mentioned Fledermaus-Fantasie, was last performed for the first time in London in June 2019 (previously in Bratislava, Leipzig, Vienna and Osaka) to great acclaim.

Wolfgang Graff, for example, writes about Andri Joël Harison at the Austro-Japanese Friendship Concert:

„Andri Joël Harison opened the second part of the concert on the piano with Chopin's Polonaise in A flat major, op. 53. The radiant personality of the young musician furthermore enhanced this lucky feeling of the lightness of being. His own composition "Fledermaus-Fantasie" - highly virtuosic and brilliantly written over the melodies of Johann Strauss' operetta - was a great treat for the attending guests."

 

His commissioned composition for the Tyrolean Festspiele Erl "Schlaflied" - a musical setting after a poet by Paul Celan for tenor solo and orchestra - was premiered at the Festspielhaus Erl on 15 July 2019.

So, Isolde Cupak (Online Merker) writes the day after the premiere of the commissioned composition:

„An absolute highlight was the premiere of the evening: Andri Joël Harison composed a "Lullaby" [Schlaflied] after Paul Celan, elegiac and gently reminiscent of orchestral songs by Richard Strauss. Erich Polz on the conductor's stand conjured up great cinema with the eleven-member ensemble, and Lorin Wey's tenor moved the audience to audible expressions of enthusiasm.“

 

As "Music Ambassador of Vienna", he represented Austria's young musicians at the 65th Chopin Festival in Duszniki-Zdrój (Poland) in 2010. His publications to date include two solo albums and a musicological publication on the contemporary Austrian composer Josef Nejez.

 

His first CD, "Antologia", shows a wide variety of musical genres from the age of Viennese Classicism to the present day and demonstrates his impartiality in mastering different styles of music. On his second CD "Musician", released by Gramola, he presents works from the Viennese Classical and Romantic periods as well as a new interpretation of the Danube Waltz, the Viennese Bonbons and his own paraphrases on themes from the famous operetta "Die Fledermaus" by Johann Strauss Son.

 

His repertoire ranges from Viennese and classical music to contemporary works and improvisations as well as his own compositions.

 

His first book provides a comprehensive orientation to Josef Nejez's avocational musical activity as a composer, arranger and instrumentalist, and gives a chronological biography and thematic overview of the stylistic elements and musical style in Nejez's work. The book not only analyses his "Missa pro vita ascendente" in detail, but also considers its place within the genre history of the mass. This dignified work is not only guided by research interest, but is also intended as a supplement to the introductions to Austrian church music in the second half of the 20th century.

 

Joël Harison, Andri: Josef Nejez − His life and work, with special consideration to his Missa pro vita ascendente Op.100.
Hamburg: Verlag Dr. Kovač, 2020.

(ISBN 978-3-339-11800-4)

In 2019 Andri Joël Harison conducted the choir and orchestra of the Vienna Tonkunstvereinigung.

 

Since September 2020 he has been a member of the Young Artist Program [Opernstudio] of the Vienna State Opera as pianist and répétiteur.

 

The Young Artist Program [Opernstudio] of the Vienna State Opera offers me, as a pianist and répétiteur, the extraordinary opportunity, on the one hand, to work with outstanding young singers of my generation and to accompany them in their artistic development and, on the other hand, to get to know the core repertoire of one of the most traditional opera houses in the world from scratch. Both activities serve as preparation for my future career as an opera conductor."

(Andri Joël Harison)

 

Besides his activities at the Vienna State Opera, he is currently working on his first opera "Noëmi" as well as his five songs (for soprano solo, choir and orchestra) and his symphonic poem.​

Simmeringer Child Prodigy and Music Ambassador of Vienna

In a documentary by the Austrian television station ORF, he was presented at the age of 15 as a musical child prodigy of Austria - other media subsequently added the designation "Simmeringer" in addition to child prodigy, on the one hand because he was trained and supported at that time in the Simmeringer School of Music and largely contributed to its positive reputation with his successes in competitions nationally and internationally, and on the other hand because the Eleventh District of Vienna, where he grew up, is his home district.

Subsequently, he advanced to become the "music ambassador of Vienna" through his great love of Viennese music, which has remained constant to this day - especially waltzes and operetta by the Johann Strauss dynasty, Robert Stolz and Franz Léhar, as well as various Viennese songs - which he performs in an improvisational manner in his solo piano concerts.

 

The French media in Madagascar meanwhile even refer to him as the "Mozart of Madagascar".​

S i m m e r i n g e r   W u n d e r k i n d

M u s i k b o t s c h a f t e r   W i e n s

L e   M o z a r t   M a l g a c h e

M u s i k a l i s c h e r   W e r d e g a n g

Andri Joël Harison ist der jüngste Spross einer Antananariver Musikerdynastie – und bereits auf dem Weg zu den großen Bühnen dieser Welt.

 

1995 in Wien geboren, entdeckte er bereits sehr früh die Musik für sich, als er mit dreizehn Monaten begann, wohlklingende Melodien auf dem Keyboard zu spielen. Im Kindergarten spielte er während der Feiern immer wieder neue Stücke sowie Improvisationen von berühmten Weihnachtsliedern. Seither avancierte die Improvisation zu einer essentiellen Fähigkeit in seinem musikalischen Œuvre.

 

Seine musikalische Ausbildung absolvierte er in Klavier bei Silvia Pereyra de Geberovich an der Musikschule Simmering, in Gesang bei Christine Wagner, sowie im Wiener Musikgymnasium, wo er in den Schulchören und -Ensembles sang und als Gesangssolist tätig war. Sein Studium absolvierte er bei Konrad Leitner (Korrepetition, Operndirigieren) und Johannes Wildner (Orchesterdirigieren) an der Wiener Musikuniversität.

 

Bereits mit 15 Jahren trat er das erste Mal als Dirigent in Erscheinung bei der Uraufführung seiner ersten Komposition für Orchester im Konzertsaal der Musikschule Simmering. Sein Orchesterstück Op. 10 Nr. 1 wurde von Schülerinnen und Schülern der Musikschule Simmering und des Musikgymnasiums Wien gespielt.

 

Er ist Preisträger des siebten "Internationalen Wettbewerbs für Klavier zu sechs und acht Händen" der Bayrischen Musikakademie (2010), achtfacher Preisträger des Jugendmusikwettbewerbs "prima la musica" (2007-2014), Preisträger der 18. "Osaka International Music Competition". Für diese komponierte er seine "Fledermaus-Fantasie"; infolgedessen gewann er – als Einziger im laufenden Wettbewerb mit eigener Komposition – den "Espoir Prize". Er ist außerdem Preisträger des "Heinz-Arnold-Gedächtnisstipendiums" als Pianist und Korrepetitor beim 5. Internationalen Nachwuchswettbewerb um den Richard-Wagner-Preis der Richard-Wagner-Stiftung Leipzig (2018).

 

Als Komponist reicht die Breite seines bisherigen Schaffens von Klavierwerken über Transkriptionen bis hin zu sinfonischer Musik; es umfasst derzeit annähernd 100 Werke.

 

Seine bisher populärste Klavierkomposition, die oben genannte Fledermaus-Fantasie, wurde zuletzt im Juni 2019 in London (vorher schon in Bratislava, Leipzig, Wien und Osaka) mit großem Erfolg erstaufgeführt.

 

So schreibt z.B. Wolfgang Graff über Andri Joël Harison beim Österreichisch-Japanischen Freundschaftskonzert:

 

„Den zweiten Teil des Konzerts eröffnete Andri Joël Harison am Klavier mit der Polonaise in As-Dur op. 53 von Chopin. Bei diesem Stück wird man einfach mitgerissen und die strahlende Persönlichkeit des jungen Musikers verstärkte darüber hinaus dieses Glücksgefühl der Leichtigkeit des Seins. Der Pianist erstaunte aber noch mit einer weiteren Begabung: Seine Eigenkomposition „Fledermaus-Fantasie“ – höchst virtuos und raffiniert über die Melodien von Johann Strauß‘ Oper geschrieben – war ein großer Genuss für die anwesenden Gäste.“

Sein Auftragswerk für die Tiroler Festspiele Erl "Schlaflied" – eine Liedvertonung nach Paul Celan für Tenor Solo und Orchester – wurde am 15. Juli 2019 im Festspielhaus Erl uraufgeführt.

So schreibt Isolde Cupak (Online Merker) am Tag nach der Uraufführung  des Auftragswerkes:

„Ein absolutes Highlight war jedenfalls die Uraufführung des Abends: Andri Joël Harison komponierte ein „Schlaflied“ nach Paul Celan, elegisch und sanft an Orchesterlieder von Richard Strauss gemahnend. Erich Polz am Pult beschwört mit dem elfköpfigen Ensemble großes Kino, der Tenor von Lorin Wey riss das Publikum zu hörbaren Begeisterungsbekundungen hin.“

 

Als „Musikbotschafter Wiens“ vertrat er 2010 die jungen Musiker Österreichs beim 65. Chopin-Festival in Duszniki-Zdrój (Polen).

Zu seinen bisherigen Veröffentlichungen zählen zwei Solo-Alben sowie eine wissenschaftliche Publikation über den zeitgenössischen österreichischen Komponisten Josef Nejez.

 

Seine erste CD „Antologia” ist eine bunte Mischung aus den musikalischen Gattungen vom Zeitalter der Wiener Klassik bis zur Gegenwart und zeigt seine Unbefangenheit im Umgang mit den verschiedenen Stilen. Auf seiner bei Gramola erschienenen zweiten CD „Musician“ präsentiert er sowohl Werke der Wiener Klassik und der Romantik als auch eine Neuinterpretation des Donauwalzers, der Wiener Bonbons und seine eigenen Paraphrasen über Themen aus der berühmten Operette „Die Fledermaus“ von Johann Strauss Sohn.

 

Sein Repertoire reicht von Wiener Musik über Klassik bis hin zu zeitgenössischen Werken und Improvisationen sowie Eigenkompositionen.

 

Sein erstes Buch vermittelt eine umfassende Orientierung über die nebenberufliche musikalische Tätigkeit Josef Nejezs als Komponist, Arrangeur und Instrumentalist, und gibt eine chronologische Biographie und einen thematischen Überblick zu den stilistischen Elementen und zum Musikstil im Werk Nejezs. Im Buch wird seine „Missa pro vita ascendente“ nicht nur detailliert analysiert, sondern auch ihre Stellung innerhalb der Gattungsgeschichte der Messe betrachtet. Das gediegene Werk ist nicht nur von Forschungsinteresse geleitet, sondern ist auch als Ergänzung der Einführungen in die österreichische Kirchenmusik in der zweiten Hälfte des 20. Jahrhunderts gedacht.

 

Joël Harison, Andri: Josef Nejez − Sein Leben und sein Werk, unter besonderer Berücksichtigung seiner Missa pro vita ascendente Op.100. Hamburg: Verlag Dr. Kovač, 2020.

(ISBN 978-3-339-11800-4)

 

2019 leitete Andri Joël Harison Chor und Orchester der Wiener Tonkunstvereinigung.

 

Seit September 2020 ist er als Pianist und Korrepetitor, Mitglied des Opernstudios der Wiener Staatsoper.

 

Das Opernstudio der Wiener Staatsoper bietet mir als Pianisten und Korrepetitor die außergewöhnliche Möglichkeit, einerseits mit hervorragenden jungen Sängerinnen und Sängern meiner Generation zu arbeiten und sie bei ihren künstlerischen Entwicklungen begleiten zu dürfen, andererseits das Kernrepertoire eines der traditionsreichsten Opernhäuser der Welt von Grund auf kennenzulernen. Beide Tätigkeiten dienen als Vorbereitung auf meine künftige Laufbahn als Operndirigent.

(Andri Joël Harison)

 

Neben der Tätigkeit an der Wiener Staatsoper arbeitet er derzeit an seiner ersten Oper "Noëmi" sowie an seinen fünf Liedern (für Sopran Solo, Chor und Orchester) und seiner symphonischen Dichtung.

Simmeringer Wunderkind und Musikbotschafter Wiens

In einer Dokumentation des österreichischen Fernsehsenders ORF wurde er im Alter von 15 Jahren als musikalisches Wunderkind Österreichs vorgestellt – von weiteren Medien kam im Anschluss zusätzlich zum Wunderkind die Bezeichnung „Simmeringer“ dazu, zum Einen, da er damals in der Simmeringer Musikschule ausgebildet und gefördert wurde und mit seinen Erfolgen bei Wettbewerben im In- und Ausland weitgehend zu deren positiven Ruf beigetragen hat, zum Anderen, da der Elfte Wiener Gemeindebezirk, in dem er aufgewachsen ist, sein Heimatbezirk ist.

In weiterer Folge avancierte er durch seine bis heute beständige große Liebe zur Wiener Musik – insbesondere Walzer und Operette von der Johann Strauss-Dynastie, Robert Stolz und Franz Lehár, wie auch diverse Wiener Lieder – die er bei seinen Klavier-Solokonzerten auf improvisatorische Art und Weise zum Besten gibt, zum „Musikbotschafter Wiens“.

Die französischen Medien in Madagaskar bezeichnen ihn mittlerweile sogar als „Mozart Madagaskars“.